Tell HN: OpenAI keeps re-enabling the 'allow training' setting

Tell HN: OpenAI keeps re-enabling the 'allow training' setting

300 pointsby jacquesm109 comments

Join the discussion

Write your take first — we'll ask for email only when you're ready to publish.

  • Hacker News
  • I also noticed this on 2 accounts - did not take as careful notes as you did unfortunately. But I'm fairly confident - both of these are accounts where I care about the interactions not being used for training.

    What's kind of still an open question for me is if the toggle automatically also applies to my Codex CLI use on the same account, or if that data is still silently being used in some way.

    After this happened, I deleted all my ChatGPT history (even though I'm not sure how much it helps at this point), but for Codex I still haven't really found any way to do the same, I can still load my past sessions even after archiving them.

  • > Make sure you check this thing to see if it hasn't been re-enabled if you believe it to be off right now.

    Or simply switch to a competitor. Assuming this is not just a bug, why would one stand for such disrespectful and sneaky behavior?

    FWIW, I have not seen this happen for me.

  • And don't switch to Misanthropic lol. They are even worst...
  • what competitor?

    the x20 Max plan for Claude gives you way lover limits.

  • If you document it properly then this basically destroys any legal claim they can make about that checkbox.
  • Out of curiosity, how one is supposed to "document it properly"?
  • Weird, I'm the opposite. I don't recall ever setting mine and I just checked and it was set to "disallow training".
  • Is this Settings > Data Controls > "Improve the model for everyone" or is there a "disallow training" somewhere else?

    presumably its default behavior will vary depending on your user subscription or if your account belongs to an organization (Business, Enterprise, Edu?).

  • Is this about the "improve the model for everyone" checkbox on https://chatgpt.com/#settings/DataControls or are there others to check, too?

    (That copy is a little flawed in my opinion, I'd prefer "models" plural.)

    That checkbox is in the ChatGPT settings, does it affect Codex desktop / Codex CLI as well?

  • There's also this setting here which I have set to 'Do not train on my content' even though I trust it the same as the 'allow training' one...

    https://privacy.openai.com/policies/en/?modal=take-control

  • Thx for the link, hadn't seen this one, submitted also
  • Does OpenAI use optimistic UI updates? After you disabled the checkbox, it might have had failed in the backend (and not updated the UI).

    Verify with devtools to see if that's the case.

    ---

    for me, Youtube "auto-play" irks the me same way, and turning it off did not actually succeed in the backend, thus kept on left as on

  • I quit OpenAI anything early when when their "do not train on my data" option was broken for several weeks. They are my one and only chargeback when I tried to quit and oops somehow I still got billed.

    They are a deeply unethical company by any measure of observation.

  • Note: Turning off that checkbox is not enough. You also need to fill out the "Do not train on my content" request here:

    https://privacy.openai.com/policies?modal=take-control

  • No you don't. They are different ways in to the same function. It's definitely confusing though, this incorrect claim has been going viral since the navier broo haha
  • Either one will opt you out, you don't need both.

    https://x.com/thsottiaux/status/2097746417012166816

    by teej
  • I've disabled the checkbox many months ago and it's still disabled today. EU citizen, not sure if that's relevant.
    by cbg0
  • Same here on Pro 20x, Switzerland
  • same, I'm a paying user in the US
  • What makes you think the company that pirated a big portion of all copyrighted work will care about this checkbox?

    At best they’ll “anonymize” the data before adding it to the corpus.

  • Same here. US.
  • Same here, I just happened to check yesterday and hadn’t checked for at least half a year.
  • Fairly certain OP lives in The Netherlands.
  • Same for me, I disabled it like 2 years ago and it is still not enabled. Location: Norway (which is for data control purposes = EU)

    Edit: I have a pro subscription now but it has also been on a free tier level for perhaps 1.5 of these years.

  • For me, "Improve the model for everyone" was "On", although I disabled a similar-sounding checkbox in the past (Germany).
  • Lol, "Outrageous that the company that chose to ignore copyright holder claims, chose to ignore my checkbox of intent despite the implied pinky promise".
  • If you break enough laws fast enough, you can become so big that nobody will punish you for national security reasons.
  • Ignoring the checkbox is an utterly offensive move, but repeatedly manipulating it contrary to stated consumer intent is a whole other level. I didn't know we were supposed to take 'frontier' literally in every sense of the word.

    I have now witnessed this myself after not believing this at first. Of course, screenshots etc. will hardly prove anything. This needs a proper third-party audit!

  • Exactly, they scrape the internet without any regard for copyright and now someone is surprised it happens to them.

    What's next, subscribers believe they are paying customers instead of sponsored data providers?

  • Happened to me recently, but on Claude.

    I resubscribed to Claude Code two weeks ago for a side project and updated it. I checked for the setting after these last events and it was turned on. I'm sure I checked them few months ago. There are cases like accepting a new TOS or an offer, which make you accept to share without noticing. I guess they can add all of your past conversations to the public training set before you notice and there is no way of taking this back.

    So that "opt-out" thing is more like a pause button rather than a permanent thing. Or something to legally protect the company without losing the users.

    There is also the case of security classifiers always monitoring your conversations. If they flag something they use your conversations to "improve their internal models" even when you "opt-out".